# INTERGROUP SEAS, RIVERS, ISLANDS AND COASTAL AREAS



### Conference

## International Ocean Governance

### An agenda for the future of our oceans

30 January 2017, 15.00-17.00

European Parliament – Room ASP5G1

#### Welcome Addresses

Ms Gesine MEISSNER, MEP, President of the Intergroup

Mr Karmenu VELLA, Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission

#### **Statements from Members of the European Parliament**

Mr José Inácio FARIA, MEP, Member of the Intergroup

Mr Tonino PICULA, MEP, Vice-President of the Intergroup

#### Presentations on the 3 priorities areas of the OG communication

Moderator: Sofia RIBEIRO, Vice-President of the Intergroup (tbc)

Presentation on priority n°1: "improving the IOG framework"

Mr Alexander MÜLLER, Think Tank TMG

Presentation on priority n°2: "reducing pressure on oceans and seas and creating: the conditions for a

sustainable blue economy"

Mrs Geneviève PONS-DELADRIÈRE, WWF

Presentation on priority n°3: "strengthening international ocean research and data"

Prof. Luis MENEZES PINHEIRO, University of Aveiro

Discussion with speakers and participating experts (see the list of experts on page 2)

Moderator: MEP, Ricardo SERRAO SANTOS, Vice-President of the Intergroup

#### **Conclusive remarks**

#### Mrs. Gesine MEISSNER

The day of the conference, Participants are kindly requested to present themselves at **14.30** onwards, in order to avoid delays – Registration to the entrance of the European Parliament at **the Info Point**.

# INTERGROUP SEAS, RIVERS, ISLANDS AND COASTAL AREAS



#### Participating experts

Mrs Katherine ANGELL-HANSEN, JPI Oceans Mr Julian BARBIÈRE, Head, Marine Policy and Regional Coordination Section Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO Mr Rui BETTENCOURT, Secretary of the Presidency for External Affairs, Government of the Azores Mr Ulf BJORNHOLM, UN Environment Mrs Maria DELIGIANNI, ECSA - Senior Policy Advisor - Maritime Safety, Environment and Offshore Mrs Ann DOM, Deputy Director, Seas At Risk Mrs Dina EPARKHINA, EuroGOOS - European Global Ocean Observing System Mr Jan-Stefan FRITZ, Head of Brussels Office, KDM Mr Julian JACKSON, The Pew Charitable Trusts Mr Niall McDONOUGH, Executive Secretary, European Marine Board Mrs Maija SIROLA, BONUS, the joint Baltic Sea research and development programme Mr Christophe TYTGAT, Secretary General, SeaEurope Mr Daniel VOCES, Acting Managing Director, Europêche